Awards and Speakers

Jack Pollard Literary Award

The Australian Cricket Society awards the Jack Pollard trophy for the leading Australian cricket book published over the previous 12 months. A panel headed by renowned cricket book dealer and ACS life member Roger Page judges the winner that honours the late Jack Pollard, one of Australia’s leading cricket historians.

The winner in 2011 was Rick Smith for Blighted Lives – the story of Harry and Albert Trott. Alf Batchelder took out the award for the second time in 2010 with Hugh Trumble – A Cricketers Life while Gideon Haigh has won the award five times with The Cricket War (1994), The Summer Game (1998), Mystery Spinner (2000) and The Big Ship (2002) and in 2008 with co-author David Frith for The Inside Story.

Young Cricketer Of The Year

The Australian Cricket Society fosters young talent in the game through its annual Young Cricketer of the Year award. Named in honour of life member Steve Mason, the inaugural winner in 1970 was Gary Cosier. Since then, the award has been won by many who’ve gone on to play first class and Test cricket. They include Merv Hughes, Tony Dodemaide, Ray Bright, Damien Fleming, Brad Hodge and current Victorian captain Cameron White.

Since 1984, outstanding female young cricketers have been honoured including Melanie Jones, Louise Broadfoot, Sarah Edwards and Meg Lanning. The 2014 recipients of the award were Matt Short and Sophie Molineux. From time to time, the Society also makes encouragement and achievement awards and sponsors young cricketers to the Bryce McGain Elite Cricket Academy.

ACS Guest Speakers

The Australian Cricket Society Annual Dinner is the feature event on the calendar and since 1968, the Society has been addressed by the Whos Who of the cricketing world. Speakers include Sir Donald Bradman, Lindsay Hassett, Ian Johnson, Neil Harvey, Bill Lawry, Tony Greig, Ian Healy and in more recent years Justin Langer, Damien Fleming, Kim Hughes and Barry Richards.

The evening is a haven for autograph hunters with even the Menu a sought after collectible. Recordings of many of these Dinners have been kept both for their historical value and the enjoyment of members.

Other prominent cricketing personalities to have addressed the Society include Australian captains Brian Booth and Graham Yallop, writers Gideon Haigh, Roland Perry and Jonathan Agnew plus numerous Test players and administrators of the game.  Annual Dinner speakers since 1968 and a list of other speakers at Society events over the past 10 years are: